Astrological Traditions

There are many different traditions of astrology, some of which share similar features due to the transmission of astrological doctrines from one culture to another. Other traditions developed in isolation and hold completely different doctrines, although they too share some similar features due to the fact that they are drawing on similar astronomical sources, i.e. planets, stars, etc.

Listed below are some significant traditions of astrology. They include, but are not limited to, the following:


Babylonian astrology

Horoscopic astrology and its specific subsets:

Hellenistic astrology

Jyotish or Vedic astrology

Persian-Arabic astrology

Medieval & Renaissance horoscopic astrology

Modern Western astrology with its specific subsets:

Modern Tropical and sidereal horoscopic astrology

Hamburg School of Astrology

Uranian astrology, subset of the Hamburg School


Psychological astrology or Astropsychology

Chinese astrology

Kabbalistic astrology

Mesoamerican astrology

Nahuatl astrology

Maya astrology

Tibetan astrology

Celtic astrology